A Fighting Chance

Okay, now fast forward a few years later (only ten or so), and apart from splitting up with my then girlfriend I had met Allie, the woman of my dreams. For us, things just seemed to click – I liked her, she liked me, we had a lot of things in common and we both found each other to be very attractive. So, after hitting it off and about a year and a half later, we were engaged to be married. At this time, she knew that I had had a vasectomy, and even though she wanted kids, she decided that she still wanted to marry me, and to fight along side with me for a chance to become pregnant.

Now, for one reason or another, it wasn’t until about a year after getting married that we decided it was time to get the reversal done. This time, things were a little different then how I remembered the vasectomy going. Unlike the vasectomy, the tasks leading up to get the reversal done were much more complicated. I had to get tests done, sign many more papers, find a doctor who had a good reputation, and pay a much, much higher price (around $6000.00!).

The hardest part for us, was when the doctor told us that we had under a 20% chance that the operation was going to be successful. That was really gut wrenching. Although I never told Allie this, it did feel like I had failed her in some sense. Both of us were at a point in our lives where we were financially set up and we were both emotionally ready to have kids, and I was the only barrier preventing that from happening. The only thing left to do was to have the operation and fight!

Fight and never give up

Leave a Reply

